Community Support Specialists provide assistance to individuals experiencing Severe and Persistent Mental Illness (SPMI).  The goal is to help clients achieve self-sustaining independence by attaining stability, improving personal, community and vocational functioning, increasing residential stability and enhancing development of skills.


Services are provided to individuals 19 years of age or older — living in Douglas, Lancaster, Sarpy, Cass, Washington or Dodge Counties in Nebraska — diagnosed with one of the following:

  • Schizophrenia
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Major Depression
  • Psychotic Disorder
  • Schizoaffective Disorder

And experience difficulty functioning in at least two of the following areas:

  • Daily living
  • Vocational skills
  • Meeting basic needs
  • Finding transportation
  • Accessing community resources
  • Stabilizing mental health symptoms

For more information, call (402) 441-7940  for services in Lancaster County or (402) 342-7007 for services in all other locations.

*Some Behavioral Health Services are funded in part from federal grants from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and the Nebraska Department of Health and Services, Division of Behavioral Health as well as non-governmental sources.